The 32nd Plenary Session of the Foreign Investors' Council chaired by the President of the Republic of Kazakhstan was held on July 4, 2019, in Nur-Sultan.


FIC was established by the Decree of the Head of State in 1998.

Individual membership of the Council was approved by the Decree of the President of Kazakhstan #4071 on September 16, 1998. At the time, 11 top executives of foreign companies and international organizations were represented in the Council:

  • Charles Frank, First Vice-President, European Bank for Reconstruction and Development;
  • Jan Koopman, Senior Executive Vice-President, Europe, ABN AMRO Bank;
  • John Klotsche, Chairman of the Executive Committee, Baker & McKenzie;
  • Frank Chapman, Executive Director, British Gas International;
  • Richard Matzke, President of Chevron Overseas, Director, Chevron Corporation.
  • Tessen von Heydebreck, Member of the Board of Directors, Deutsche Bank A.G;
  • Lakshmi Mittal, Chairman, LHM Group (Ispat Karmet);
  • Roger Munnings, Member of KPMG International Council, Managing Partner of KPMG for CIS Region;
  • Hiroshi Nemichi, President and Managing Director of Mitsubishi Corporation;
  • Woo Taik Chung, President of Samsung Corporation in Central Asia;
  • Daniel Deru, Executive Director, Tractebel International.

The Kazakh side was then represented by:

  • Mr Nurlan Balgimbayev, Prime Minister of the Republic of Kazakhstan;
  • Mr Uraz Dzhandosov, First Deputy Prime Minister, Chairman of the State Committee of the Republic of Kazakhstan on Foreign Investments;
  • Mr Alikhan Baymenov, Head of Administration of the President of the Republic of Kazakhstan;
  • Mr Kadyrzhan Damitov, Chairman of the National Bank of the Republic of Kazakhstan.